How soon is too soon?

So having finally published my first post after a few abortive attempts, I’ve received some great feedback. And yet something a good friend said has been nagging at me:

dude I don’t want to dampen your spirits but I’d wait a bit until you have a few posts before hawking the blog to everyone (friendly advice)

I guess I got pretty over-excited about writing my first blog and wanted as many people to have a look as possible.

But maybe he has a point? If I went to another blog or website and there was only one article/post on it I’d probably think it wasn’t worth going back as they’d seem pretty unproductive. And what if I never have anything to say of interest again? That would be pretty embarrasing not to metion eternally recorded in the mists of the tinterweb.

I’m thinking that maybe you have to “earn your stripes” as a blogger before it’s okay to promote your thoughts to other people. But I have no idea of the etiquette. Is it 5 posts, 10 posts, 100 posts before you have the critical mass for mass (okay so 10 people) consumption?

What do you think? How soon is too soon?

P.S I’ve realised that my blogging voice is starting to sound a little Sex In The City

6 responses to “How soon is too soon?

  1. Hi Simon
    I am tempted to say, just get started but…

    The key act of blogging is not the posting itself but to become involved in the conversation. So, your first step should be to learn to comment – the etiquette, the frequency, the tone, the link. Only then should you start your postings.

    I know of far too many blogs where people have imagined that the quality of the words or the pictures were enough. But this is the “broadcast” model of old. Read Chi-Chi Ekweozor’s posting on a recent meet-up in Manchester – http://www.realfresh.tv/and-were-off-manchesters-social-media-cafe-opens-for-business/.

    No, you only need to start commenting to start blogging.

    Good luck and enjoy Chile.

    Cheers

  2. hey, it’s a conversation. And conversations start somewhere, right? So you have people help you develop your voice in this conversation, which is what you are doing.
    (Of course, if you want to wait for awhile to find your voice, don’t let Chris tweet the link).

  3. we waited to get around 40-50 entries before beginning to push the blog around. we were getting 10-15 readers a day, now up to 100-120 or so. next frontier (500 or so) requires more focused content and to develop a brand / persona.

    that is the way i see it πŸ™‚

  4. Probably more important how long between posts than how many you’ve done. If you have a year between posts, credibility will definitely drop. Go for it, pal! You’re doing fine!

  5. I don’t think there’s any etiquette per se, but my point was (and obviously difficult to convey via the 140 constraints of twitter!) exactly what you allude to – I reckon it just makes it harder for you. You don’t want people rocking up, seeing one post, and never coming back.

    Maintaining a blog can be tricky and given the massive amount of choice, sustaining readership requires a lot of hard work. That said, you’ve clearly got the passion mate and that shines through!

    Anyway – we’re watching now πŸ™‚

    much love
    GD

  6. Doug, thanks for the post. I’m glad you did cos I think that a conversation like this in public is always going to benefit from the thoughts and voices of others.

    Having thought about things on the plane to Chile – I can see the mountains of Santiago from where I’m typing! – I think everyone in there own way is right. I think that I was right to start a conversation and publicise it as it got me off to a great start, introduced me to people I did’t know, and got me linking with more people on Twitter.

    On the other hand I think I still need to develop a voice, create a critical mass that will bring people value and draw them back, as well increase the frequency of my comments on others blogs and develop my own ideas more rather than just repeat or retweet those of others.

    Still the whole point of this blog is in many ways a journey of self tuition in the tools of social media. Before launching into this I asked several people for advice on how to start what to do etc. I got some and it definitely pointed me in a certain direction, but with blogging and twittering being a relatively new media, there are no fixed rules on how to go about it.

    The great thing is that this is how it should be, and is what makes this kind of communication so exciting and beneficial.

    I hope I continue to give people something to think about.

    Anyway, I’m off to the lakes of the South of Chile for a holiday. See you back here in a few weeks,

    Simon

Leave a Reply

